PDA

View Full Version : Rotating UIImage view then rotate in opposite direction based on condition

nexus74
Jul 17, 2010, 07:30 AM
Hello,

I'm new to objective c. My code has a scrolling back ground and in the fore ground is a spinning wheel.

I can scroll the back ground and rotate the wheel UIImage view just fine.

I'm having an issue with making the wheel rotate in the opposite direction when my background begins to scroll in the opposite direction.

Here's my code:

- (void) animateBG:(NSTimer *)animBGTimer {

scrollingBG.center = CGPointMake(scrollingBG.center.x, scrollingBG.center.y + scrollingBGMovement.y);

wheel.transform = CGAffineTransformRotate(wheel.transform, M_PI / 20.0f);

if (scrollingBG.center.y > 1220 || scrollingBG.center.y < -770 )
scrollingBGMovement.y = -scrollingBGMovement.y;

if (scrollingBG.center.y > 1220){
wheel.transform = CGAffineTransformRotate(wheel.transform, M_PI / -20.0f);
}
}

I've tried putting the line
wheel.transform = CGAffineTransformRotate(wheel.transform, M_PI / -20.0f);
right under my first "if" statement, but no go.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Michael

chown33
Jul 17, 2010, 12:16 PM
In your head, step through what you're doing to your transform.

You apply a rotation of pi/20, then you conditionally apply a rotation of pi/-20. What is the net effect of rotating pi/20 followed by pi/-20?

nexus74
Jul 17, 2010, 02:41 PM
I see what you're saying, but using -40f does not work either. What does the "f" in -40f represent ?

robbieduncan
Jul 17, 2010, 02:57 PM
I see what you're saying, but using -40f does not work either. What does the "f" in -40f represent ?

If you don't know what the f means why have you been using it? Did you just blindly copy and paste the code from somewhere?

This is why I always tell people to learn C before Objective-C. For your reference the answer can be found here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_syntax#Floating_point_types).

chown33
Jul 17, 2010, 06:01 PM