Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JotaPorras

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 4, 2009
Say I'm a high school student whose dream has always been to learn how to program games, applications or any program in general. I tried to start on my own but I haven't really gotten on a clear path and my knowledge on programming are still pretty much zero. Any ideas on how to start to learn programming? Languages to learn, simple projects to begin with, etc.

GorillaPaws

macrumors 6502a
Oct 26, 2003
Richmond, VA
Do you learn best by taking the bottom-up approach, or the top-down? In other words, if you're learning how a car works, do you want to start with all of the small parts and see how they fit together and then build up from that? or do you like looking at the car and then slowly breaking it down into gradually smaller components?

For bottom-up people I would recommend starting with C. It's pretty low-level and will give you a good appreciation of what the machine is doing with regards to where your code is going in memory. If you're really hardcore, you could even try assembly programming. Most of the major, hardware intensive games are written in C. Casual games can be written in lots of languages. This is a great tutorial for learning the basics of C. It's no substitute for a good book though.

For the top-down approach, you might want to take a look at Python. It's a very simple, and clean language that will allow you to do many cool things rather quickly. With Python you will be insulated from some of the tricker concepts (which you will need to learn eventually), while you're getting your feet wet and learning to solve problems programatically.

Also, do a search using the link in my signature and you'll find lots of threads with tons of great information on this topic.

mac2x

macrumors 65816
Sep 19, 2009