Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kingthias

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 11, 2009
I made this portfolio website and I wanted to see what you guys thought.
A lot of the the photos are just example photos and other things lack functionality but I just want to see what you think about the design and fancybox based infrastructure.

http://kingthias.vndv.com

I plan on getting a domain name setup soon.
Tell me what you think.

snberk103

macrumors 603
Oct 22, 2007
An Island in the Salish Sea
The scroll bar, as part of the website - not in the browser, for the bottom half of the site where the little photos are is not intuitive. I only noticed that there were more thumbnails on a 2nd row by accident.

I like the use of monochrome, except for when something is highlighted, though I'm not thrilled by that shade of purple. Though perhaps it will tie into something else later.

I am not a designer by profession, but as a photographer I am always looking at design. When I need to design something I use CRAP
Contrast
Repetition
Alignment
Proximity

I love alignment.... so I notice that this site doesn't have much. The big graphic, with the starburst, and the thumbnails are centred. The icons on the top are not centred or aligned with anything. Since your text is right justified, draw an temporary vertical line on the right side of the text, just touching the letters. Then align the right side of the rightmost icon on that line, and the right side of the rightmost thumbnails on that line. That, I think, will go a long ways to making the site looke more professional.