Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

definitive

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 4, 2008
I've always sketched website layout in illustrator, and then would build a site based on that. Recently I came across a few CSS sites that offer grid systems, and while I understand the purpose behind them, it just struck me odd that I've never heard about anyone who used such a system throughout the years of me building websites.

Is it really a good practice to use such a thing? I get the grid system, but at the same time, I don't think it's really necessary for building websites...

jaikob

macrumors 6502
Jul 1, 2008
Freeland, MI
I still use good old fashion pen and paper. I sketch it, and I also pen my div pixel sizes in there too. :)

As for the gird system. Never used it, and I am a professional web developer :p

By the way, everyone designs and builds their sites different. There is the "Trial and Error" type, which will just go and make it all up as they go (usually the creative challenged types. It takes a long time to develop a good layout, me included haha), and the "Structural" type, which will have everything done prior to programming. Everyone is different :)

definitive

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 4, 2008
Can you modify the grid system? Seems that graphics would be a lot more choppy this way.

no, it's just a layout type of deal where it helps you arrange your text, columns and images so they all line up properly. it's more like a background image that repeats vertically, and you remove it once you're done laying out your website.

here's an example: http://960.gs/

reason i asked is that i took a look at their css coding, and it was much more different than what i typically use. so i'm wondering if it's needed or not.

eponym

macrumors 6502
Jul 2, 2010
There are pros and cons to CSS frameworks (which is what you're really talking about).