Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cursor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 17, 2002
As I stated in another thread, I'm currently revising my company identity.

As I got to the business card, I came to a crossroads; should a business card always be straight forward and a basic 3.5 x 2 inch piece of cover stock or is it always better to have a funky card design that makes the user jump through a hoop to get to the information they want to see? Maybe there is a gray area in between?

I like the idea of fun business cards, especially since I'm a designer. But I find myself wondering if it would turn off most marketing executives that just see the utility in them (that they are a vessel that carries necessary information) and nothing else.

Anybody have any thoughts? Maybe I have too much time on my hands, hence the need to finish my identity work and get some new business!

citizenzen

macrumors 68000
Mar 22, 2010
All business... with a twist.

But I'd never make it difficult to get the information.

TheNewDude

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2010
I had a guy give me his business card once which i still remember clearly....

it was one of those small CDs with cut off sides (It wasn't completely round). All the "necessary" information was printed right on the CD and when i loaded the CD into the computer, it had his resume on it. It wasn't just a DOC, it was a proper presentation which went on when i started the CD.

It was extremely well done.

Maybe you can have some of your previous designs on it etc so people can see you work too.
But, with that being said, i'm sure the cards were expensive.

Cursor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 17, 2002
I had a guy give me his business card once which i still remember clearly....