PDA

View Full Version : PC4000 - DDR500 Ram in PowerMac G5?


Poeben
Nov 14, 2004, 01:20 AM
So I was pricing out ram upgrades for my dual 2.5 and found it interesting that Crucial (http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=Apple%2BPower+Mac&mfr=Apple&cat=RAM&model=Power+Mac+G5+%28Dual+2.5GHz+DDR%29&submit=Go) is listing Ballistix PC4000 ram as compatable. Will the G5 actually benefit from the faster ram, assuming it is all PC4000? What do you guys think?

Counterfit
Nov 14, 2004, 01:58 AM
The memory will run as whatever the G5 is designed to use. So if it's more expensive, you wasted money. However, if it's less expensive, go for it ;)

Mav451
Nov 14, 2004, 02:45 AM
You don't need the PC4000 RAM. That's made for overclocking your FSB/HTT, and I've yet to hear of many people overclocking their G5's, so yeah, save your money.

On the other hand, if you had a FX-series Athlon 64 or a Pentium 4 C (800fsb), then the memory would be useful to you.