PDA

View Full Version : iMac G5 as a dual G5 screen ??


illustratorDavi
Nov 14, 2004, 05:51 PM
Hi

Looking at the price of the imac G5 20 inch

Does anyone know how I could use the imac screen as a screen for a G5 minitower (with the view of buying a imac and next year buying a tower)

Anybody know how the screen is connected to the motherboard ?

Thanks
David

robbieduncan
Nov 14, 2004, 05:56 PM
Certainly not easily. Given that you would need to de-solder the connections from the logic board (probably, perhaps not as the midplane is replacable) you would be better selling the iMac when you only want a screen and using the cash to buy a brand new 20" screen (especially as prices will fall for the screens in the interim).

Sun Baked
Nov 14, 2004, 06:06 PM
Hi

Looking at the price of the imac G5 20 inch

Does anyone know how I could use the imac screen as a screen for a G5 minitower (with the view of buying a imac and next year buying a tower)

Anybody know how the screen is connected to the motherboard ?

Thanks
DavidNope not without destrotying the iMac G5 and converting it to a monitor only -- ie, remove everthing but LCD and backlight, add DVI pigtail in hole in case, add power supply.

There really isn't enought room for a switchbox inside the case to be able to use it as both.

It would be best to buy the SP 1.8 PowerMac and a monitor then switch over to a faster PM in the future.

The SP 1.8 PowerMac is a headless-iMac in architecture, so it's the same machine in a PM case.

Or simply e-Bay the iMac G5 and buy a new LCD.

illustratorDavi
Nov 14, 2004, 06:08 PM
Good point.

The resale value for iMac G4s is pretty high still on ebay

Thanks
David