PDA

View Full Version : Hooking Apple TV to non widescreen?




glennoc91
Jul 24, 2010, 05:56 PM
I usually run it through the HD tv in the lounge but in the bedroom I just have a regular, non-hd, 4:3 tv. I am using the av (red white yellow) cable to connect to the tv but it comes out black and white.

I was wondering what is the best way to hook this up? I'm not savvy with composites and cables and stuff but...

I have a hdmi cable already so is there a way to convert it to scart, through an adaptor or something? if that exists. Aware of course the quality is lessened.

Whats the most cost effective way of fixing this? How have you fixed this?



spiritlevel
Jul 24, 2010, 06:36 PM
I tried this recently...the bad news is I believe it can't be done.

Sounds like your TV has a composite input (with a pair of audios) and a scart input and you are trying to feed it a component (3 part) video signal - unfortunately they are not compatible.

One of the component outs on the apple TV will give you a black and white signal when plugged into the composite in on the TV but I'm afraid that's the best you will get.

I searched fairly thoroughly at the time and it seems there are no component to composite, or hdmi to composite, or component to scart, or hdmi to scart adapters. I came across some threads/forums where some knowledgable people explained why this was - I can't remember exactly other than they are completely different kinds of signal.

My solution? Well it gave me a great excuse to buy a new telly...

glennoc91
Jul 24, 2010, 07:04 PM
Ahh, such a pain
Thanks anyway
Have to get looking

mstrze
Jul 24, 2010, 09:07 PM
You apparently didn't search too well as YouTube has a bunch of people that have done this successfully...

http://www.youtube.com/watch#!v=s-QFWAnNKDo&feature=related

for example.


Follow his procedure:

• Plug your composite-yellow in the green "slot" (this will allow you to view the image in B/W)
• Settings / Video / TV Resolution (you should have it set to 480i)
• Now STAND on 480p and unplug the composite-yellow, plug an HDMI to DVI-I & DVI-I to VGA adapter
• Press "play" and wait 2 seconds
• Unplug the HDMI to DVI-I & DVI-I to VGA adapter and replug the composite-yellow.


This video has more detail:
http://www.youtube.com/watch#!v=wlhIexkjfuk&feature=related

Have fun!

TheCheapGeek
Jul 26, 2010, 07:34 AM
This is still possible, the second video linked above is mine so if you have any questions or trouble please let me know.

spiritlevel
Jul 28, 2010, 01:48 PM
Well there you go...

Still - quite glad I didn't find these videos as i now have a 32" Sony Bravia!