PDA

View Full Version : Line splitting




guitargoddsjm
Jul 25, 2010, 10:59 PM
Not exactly sure if this is the right place for this (mods, feel free to move this thread), but:

Comcast installed (turned on) cable to my apartment a couple months ago. My dad was watching the apartment while I was at work so everything could get hooked up. Unfortunately, I forgot to tell my dad how I wanted everything hooked up! The cable tv line is in the living room (hooked up to the tv), and the modem is currently set up in my bedroom. Unfortunately, there's another bedroom and a loft, and putting the modem/router in my bedroom causes weak signal in those areas. Also, the tv can hook up via ethernet, so I may want to wire the router to the tv.

What I'd like to do is setup the modem/router in a central location (i.e., the living room). I think I have two options:

Better option: split the signal coming from behind the tv. Send one line to the tv, one line to the modem. Will this cause a weak tv or internet
OR there is a coax jack in the living room across from the tv. I could either put the modem on this side of the room and run a flat ethernet cable under the rug to a router in the tv console, or I could run a coax cable under the rug and put the modem AND router in the tv console.



Will either/both scenarios work? Which is better for signal strength?

Also, does signal degrade more quickly over coax or ethernet?

Thanks!



Les Kern
Jul 26, 2010, 07:31 AM
1. nope, go ahead and split it. Mine is split upstairs and down in my office where I have the EyeTV/modem combo.
2. copper is copper. but never run under rugs. If you must get there, go under the floor via the baseboard or perimeter.

guitargoddsjm
Jul 26, 2010, 05:57 PM
Thanks for the advice! I have a follow up question...

1. nope, go ahead and split it. Mine is split upstairs and down in my office where I have the EyeTV/modem combo.
Do you know what kind of splitter you have? I've heard people refer to low-loss splitters (e.g., this monster one (http://www.amazon.com/Monster-TGHZ-2RF-Gigahertz-Splitters-Satellite/dp/B00003CWG2/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top))

Les Kern
Jul 26, 2010, 08:11 PM
Thanks for the advice! I have a follow up question...


Do you know what kind of splitter you have? I've heard people refer to low-loss splitters (e.g., this monster one (http://www.amazon.com/Monster-TGHZ-2RF-Gigahertz-Splitters-Satellite/dp/B00003CWG2/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top))

No, I just got the most expensive one, and it really wasn't all that expensive.