PDA

View Full Version : G4 CPU upgrade help!


stephenli
Nov 16, 2004, 10:10 PM
I purchase a sonnet Encore/ST G4 1Ghz cpu upgrade for my G4 400 AGP.
After upgrade, it did not startup, and of course, no startup sound.
Does anybody have similar symptom on this?
Would the power not enough because i have a GForce4 Ti installed?

After the failure, I put back my G4 400 cpu on my Mac, but it freeze and freeze and freeze.......omg whats happened? should i need to put addition thermal plate? or........any advise?

TLRedhawke
Nov 17, 2004, 12:05 AM
Did you remember to install the firmware update before you put in the new CPU? That's a pretty major issue. As for the old CPU causing trouble, yes, it probably needs some new thermal paste.

booksacool1
Nov 17, 2004, 12:51 AM
OK, its probally not a power issue, seeing as I have a dual (7457) 1.3ghz G4 upgrade together with a radeon 9800 and it runs fine. The problem might be caused by old firmware, but i assume you have a normal
(7455 or 7451) G4, which i thought typically doesn't require an update. I think more likely something isn't physically installed correctly. Maybe the Processor isn't compleatly? Does the processor have an extra power cable? Are you sure the ram is in properly, try pushing down on it, even when the clips on the side close in on the ram, it is still not yet seated compleatly. If you have tried all that, the proccessor is probally dud, Contact sonnet

BTW, try your computer with your stock cpu, but use some thermal paste this time. If it works with the origenal cpu you can probally narrow it down to the upgrade being DOA.

stephenli
Nov 18, 2004, 06:48 AM
O thanks everybody!
It is the problem of firmware..........which i overlooked for updating....
I did tried installing my old CPU before the new one.....with thermal paste, and works fine!
:)