PDA

View Full Version : G4 + Adaptec 2906 SCSI


ezkirk
Nov 17, 2004, 03:17 AM
I have just bought a 2nd hand adaptec 2906 SCSi card for my G4 running OSX 10.3, it seems to of slown the whole operating system down by about half and the system profiler no longer recognises it. When I try to install the 2906 software it fails with errors!

When I first put the card in the computer started up no problem and the card was recognised, now I have taken it out as it makes the computer too slow...

Any ideas?

bousozoku
Nov 17, 2004, 09:16 AM
There is already an Adaptec 290X - 2930 driver in /System/Extensions so you don't need to install one.

It almost sounds as though the card has given up. Does it work better in any of the other slots? Have you tried it in another machine? I only have a 2930 but it has worked with Panther and didn't slow the system down at all.

kettle
Nov 17, 2004, 09:42 AM
I use a 2906 to run a Jaz drive.
It only shows up in the PCI/AGP Card description.

I'm experiencing some problems since around the iTunes 4.7 Quicktime and 10.3.6 update. The whole system seems to have taken a hit.

I was thinking of taking it out to test.

Otherwise it seems ok for mounting Jaz drives with.

Flynnstone
Nov 17, 2004, 10:00 AM
I think Panther and Adaptec SCSI cards don't get along. There doesn't appear to be any support. I think Apple & Adaptec got it a fight.
I have a Adaptec 2930 SCSI attached to a VXA tape drive.
I can .. sort of.. backup to tape under Panther, but I consistently get kernel panics. After some research, I concluded that I'm SOL.

cpjakes
Nov 17, 2004, 11:05 AM
This thread is interesting - I have a DP 450 from 2000 with an Adaptec 2190 in it. It's been in there for a long time, I wonder if I'm experiencing anything slower than I should be. It's always worked well with three internal hard drives, an external CD-RW and an old scanner. There was a problem with the OS for a while, but that was fixed in one of the 10.3.x updates.

If I can untangle my machine from it's location, maybe I'll pull the card and check my speeds.

cpjakes

maxvamp
Nov 17, 2004, 11:47 AM
You may want to make sure that this adaptec card is supported by Panther.

A while back, I bought an ATTO Ultra2 card. This card would work great in OSX.2, but in Panther ( OSX.3 ) it was not recognized. Turns out that the drivers for the OS are actually stored in the card.

The drivers stored in my atto do not load under OSX.3, and so, it became useless for a Mac. In Windows, it works better than any Adaptec card I have ever had.

Long and short... this card may not run under panther or later.

Max.

Flynnstone
Nov 17, 2004, 06:37 PM
Kind of looks like Apple is trying to kill SCSI.

ezkirk
Nov 17, 2004, 08:30 PM
There is already an Adaptec 290X - 2930 driver in /System/Extensions so you don't need to install one.

It almost sounds as though the card has given up. Does it work better in any of the other slots? Have you tried it in another machine? I only have a 2930 but it has worked with Panther and didn't slow the system down at all.

I tried it in 3 different ports, I have not tried to connect anything to it yet but I was worried by the software/driver not instaling properly.

Yes it does seem that Apple is trying to kill SCSI - not such a bad thing apart from I have an Epson 1520 (almost A2 size) printer and a Scitex Eversmart A3 scannner both use SCSi and will cost a fortune to replace with USB/FireWire hardware!

I have been in other threads reffering to routers and networking and at the moment my G4 is far from 'plug and play'!! Still a thousand times better than anything a PC can give me!

stephenli
Nov 18, 2004, 06:53 AM
I also have a 2906, the OS recognized it as SCSI but,
it just not work.
I read somewhere that 2906 is not supported, but 2930 should be ok (though i forgot which site i have read)
so....my choice is to
throw away my 2906, and throw away my old...old epson SCSI scanner...
a good excuse to upgrade the scanner, and of course, Firewire.

ezkirk
Nov 18, 2004, 08:34 PM
I also have a 2906, the OS recognized it as SCSI but,
it just not work.
I read somewhere that 2906 is not supported, but 2930 should be ok (though i forgot which site i have read)
so....my choice is to
throw away my 2906, and throw away my old...old epson SCSI scanner...
a good excuse to upgrade the scanner, and of course, Firewire.

Easier said than done... look up the prices and specs for an Eversmart Pro scanner... even on ebay it is around $5,000 in used condition! My printer is handy too as it prints large scale and the quality is still pretty good.

2906 is supported by both 10.3 server and 10.3 according to the Adaptec site!