PDA

View Full Version : Been out of this for a while - what program are you using for tagging?




fivepoint
Jul 27, 2010, 03:58 PM
Due to being busy or something like that I stopped ripping and tagging videos about a year ago, but am not trying to get back into it. I've always used Handbrake for the ripping, and that still works great, but I redownloaded MetaX (which I used to use for all of my file tagging) but for some reason it seems to be ruining my files during the tagging process. The new artwork and tag data comes through correctly, but the video is turned into just blackness.

Is anyone else out there still using MetaX, or is it broken for everyone?
What's the best and most user-friendly alternative out there?

Appreciate any help you can provide!



VTMac
Jul 27, 2010, 04:07 PM
MetaX has been fixed for several months now. Someone at TagChimp modified the TagChimp API so that MetaX would start working again. Been working great for me.

fivepoint
Jul 27, 2010, 04:19 PM
MetaX has been fixed for several months now. Someone at TagChimp modified the TagChimp API so that MetaX would start working again. Been working great for me.

I don't think we're talking about the same problem though... my problem with MetaX is that it seems to be ruining my video files. It turns them black... no content.

bt22
Jul 27, 2010, 04:45 PM
Due to being busy or something like that I stopped ripping and tagging videos about a year ago, but am not trying to get back into it. I've always used Handbrake for the ripping, and that still works great, but I redownloaded MetaX (which I used to use for all of my file tagging) but for some reason it seems to be ruining my files during the tagging process. The new artwork and tag data comes through correctly, but the video is turned into just blackness.

Is anyone else out there still using MetaX, or is it broken for everyone?
What's the best and most user-friendly alternative out there?

Appreciate any help you can provide!

Fivepoint... Sorry if I am over simplifying this, but are you using Handbrake in addition to VLC Player? Handbrake needs VLC... Perhaps your rip works fine before running it thru Meta-X, I don't know, but it sounds to me like you are just using Handbrake and it's not stripping the encryption. VLC should fix that. I use Meta-X and don't have this problem.

fivepoint
Jul 27, 2010, 05:35 PM
Fivepoint... Sorry if I am over simplifying this, but are you using Handbrake in addition to VLC Player? Handbrake needs VLC... Perhaps your rip works fine before running it thru Meta-X, I don't know, but it sounds to me like you are just using Handbrake and it's not stripping the encryption. VLC should fix that. I use Meta-X and don't have this problem.

bt22,
Actually, the files are working perfectly after the handbrake rip (I do have VLC installed) but for some reason, after the MetaX tagging process, the files becomes unusable. The artwork/tags are there but the video is just black. No content.

bt22
Jul 27, 2010, 07:06 PM
bt22,
Actually, the files are working perfectly after the handbrake rip (I do have VLC installed) but for some reason, after the MetaX tagging process, the files becomes unusable. The artwork/tags are there but the video is just black. No content.

Alright...I figured you knew what you were doing. Just wanted to ask. Hope you find a solution to your problem, sorry I couldn't help.

dynaflash
Jul 27, 2010, 07:27 PM
fivepoint: the mac version of metax has some serious issues which I am pained to say. Right now Subler imho is your best bet. I was a staunch metax on mac user when kerstetter was active and developing but it appears for now that he has abandoned the project. Subler is developed by one of the HandBrake devs and uses the very same mp4 muxer. Its golden. Only drawback is it cannot scrape amazon. though it does scrape tagchimp.

surfkw
Jul 27, 2010, 07:49 PM
Agreed, even if MetaX was 'fixed' and stopped corrupting files I would continue to use Subler as it also allows you to edit other fields such as the HD tag or the cnID. Love it!

dynaflash
Jul 27, 2010, 07:56 PM
heh, subler is a jewel, I told ritsuka (sublers dev) that he really should remame it to some thing else. Cripes it will remux a mkv to an mp4. Definitely underrated. Probably the best utilization of libmp4v2 other than hb.

fivepoint
Jul 27, 2010, 08:33 PM
Dynaflash, you're a good man! Just downloaded Subler, and it works great! I'll miss the "moooo" of MetaX, but I'm glad to be back in the ripping/tagging business!

Much obliged, I owe you one more now! One question, it seems as if Subler is automatically un-selecting surround sound and chapter markers. Why is this, and should they be left off or turned on?

Wolffie
Jul 27, 2010, 09:51 PM
Can someone point me to where I can learn to use Subler?

It looks like a great program, I'm just not sure how to use it.
Every time I feel I make progress I think I lose info.

Google hasn't been helpful.

Thank you in advance!

VTMac
Jul 28, 2010, 06:25 AM
I don't think we're talking about the same problem though... my problem with MetaX is that it seems to be ruining my video files. It turns them black... no content.

This is almost always caused by not selecting (or selecting) 64 bit support in the preferences depending on if you are ripping from handbrake with 64 bit support enabled. Whatever you are doing in handbrake must be matched in MetaX. I switched from 32 bit to 64 bit machine in the middle of my ripping -- that's how I found this out.

B.A.T
Jul 28, 2010, 09:08 AM
Fivepoint I had the same problem and it was very frustrating. I had to do what VTmac suggested and it has worked perfect ever since.

dynaflash
Jul 28, 2010, 09:10 AM
One question, it seems as if Subler is automatically un-selecting surround sound and chapter markers. Why is this, and should they be left off or turned on?
Assuming you are talking about the standard audio track layout that comes out of HB for the atv (1-aac and 1-ac3), this is correct. the surround should be and is disabled. that is proper for the atv as the atv knows to use the ac3 track if your device supports even though it shows as disabled. in short that is correct.

As far as chapters go, are they enabled from your hb encodes ?

fivepoint
Jul 28, 2010, 10:08 AM
This is almost always caused by not selecting (or selecting) 64 bit support in the preferences depending on if you are ripping from handbrake with 64 bit support enabled. Whatever you are doing in handbrake must be matched in MetaX. I switched from 32 bit to 64 bit machine in the middle of my ripping -- that's how I found this out.

Good to know, I'll have to try that... although now that I have Subler now, not sure I would want to go back. Subler does seem a bit faster, but I don't think it has some features (TV Show Setting Saving) like MetaX does.



Assuming you are talking about the standard audio track layout that comes out of HB for the atv (1-aac and 1-ac3), this is correct. the surround should be and is disabled. that is proper for the atv as the atv knows to use the ac3 track if your device supports even though it shows as disabled. in short that is correct.

As far as chapters go, are they enabled from your hb encodes ?

Dynaflash, I am using the AppleTV preset with no changes on Handbrake. Very happy with that setting.

On Subler, when I select the video file to edit, it gives me 4 checkboxes with two selected and two not. The two that are not selected are Surround Sound and Chapter Markers. So far, I've been checking them both (because I figured that I did want to keep the Surround Sound!) so I didn't lose anything. You're saying this is wrong, and I should have left them unchecked? Won't I then lose my Surround Sound data?

A brief explanation would be much appreciated!

dynaflash
Jul 28, 2010, 10:54 AM
On Subler, when I select the video file to edit, it gives me 4 checkboxes with two selected and two not. The two that are not selected are Surround Sound and Chapter Markers. So far, I've been checking them both (because I figured that I did want to keep the Surround Sound!) so I didn't lose anything. You're saying this is wrong, and I should have left them unchecked? Won't I then lose my Surround Sound data?

A brief explanation would be much appreciated!
Yes, the checkbox just means the track is enabled. Not that you want to keep or delete it. So leave it unchecked. You will not lose the data at all, it just will be marked disabled by default. As I said the atv overrides this if you are hooked up to a 5.1 capable sound source. This is the very format as far as audio aac 1 being enabled and audio ac3 2 being disabled as HD movies from itunes ( it is worth noting that handbrake got this to work right by reverse engineering the intro movie from the atv software).

So, in short leave the audio as it is in subler. Subler is showing how its setup out of HB. As far as chapters ... I have left that alone too, chapters still show up on the atv.
Basically from an atv encode out of HB do your tagging and let it rip. Done deal.

Also note on the MetaData tab at the bottom left there is a little drop down where you can select tag sets to fill in for Movies or Tv shows Its not super obvious but once you get used to it it works good. Kind of a tag template.

fivepoint
Jul 28, 2010, 11:09 AM
Yes, the checkbox just means the track is enabled. Not that you want to keep or delete it. So leave it unchecked. You will not lose the data at all, it just will be marked disabled by default. As I said the atv overrides this if you are hooked up to a 5.1 capable sound source. This is the very format as far as audio aac 1 being enabled and audio ac3 2 being disabled as HD movies from itunes ( it is worth noting that handbrake got this to work right by reverse engineering the intro movie from the atv software).

So, in short leave the audio as it is in subler. Subler is showing how its setup out of HB. As far as chapters ... I have left that alone too, chapters still show up on the atv.
Basically from an atv encode out of HB do your tagging and let it rip. Done deal.

Also note on the MetaData tab at the bottom left there is a little drop down where you can select tag sets to fill in for Movies or Tv shows Its not super obvious but once you get used to it it works good. Kind of a tag template.

Great info. I will leave those unchecked (diabled) from now on. However, the 20 or so I processed last night where I did check (enable) the surround sound feature... What affect will this have on the file? Will ATV be unable to play it now, or will it not sound correct on it or any other devices (iPhone, iPad, etc.?)

Thanks

P.S. I'm correct that the new iPhone and new iPad can both play the Handbrake ATV preset now, right? Awesome.

dynaflash
Jul 28, 2010, 11:26 AM
Great info. I will leave those unchecked (diabled) from now on. However, the 20 or so I processed last night where I did check (enable) the surround sound feature... What affect will this have on the file? Will ATV be unable to play it now, or will it not sound correct on it or any other devices (iPhone, iPad, etc.?)

Thanks

P.S. I'm correct that the new iPhone and new iPad can both play the Handbrake ATV preset now, right? Awesome.

Frankly I don't know about having both checked. You'll have to try it out and see. yes, the new iPhone and iPad can play the atv preset.

fivepoint
Jul 28, 2010, 11:28 AM
Frankly I don't know about having both checked. You'll have to try it out and see. yes, the new iPhone and iPad can play the atv preset.

I'll try it when I get home and report back. I just thought you'd probably know what would happen if the Surround Sound was left on since that was an option in Handbrake.

THX

dynaflash
Jul 28, 2010, 11:42 AM
I'll try it when I get home and report back. I just thought you'd probably know what would happen if the Surround Sound was left on since that was an option in Handbrake.

THX
Actually its not. In hb the second ac3 track is disabled upon encode (which is why subler shows it as such). Anyway check it out and hopefully it works. Of course if not instead of re encoding just open it back up with subler and disable the surround track. Much faster than re encoding. ;)

fivepoint
Jul 28, 2010, 12:37 PM
Actually its not. In hb the second ac3 track is disabled upon encode (which is why subler shows it as such). Anyway check it out and hopefully it works. Of course if not instead of re encoding just open it back up with subler and disable the surround track. Much faster than re encoding. ;)

Ah... ok, I thought you said that the ATV preset on Handbrake disabled the SS option, so that's why I thought you'd know what would happen if the SS feature had NOT been disabled.

Anyway, I checked it out over the lunch hour, and the videos play fine through the AppleTV this way. Didn't notice any difference. I will leave them unchecked in the future though. Thanks.

dynaflash
Jul 28, 2010, 01:27 PM
Also, regarding the chapters track, ritsuka the subler dev ( and also a hb dev ) confirmed that enabling the chapters track has no effect on the chapters being accessible on any apple device. So just leave it as is.

Have fun with Subler!

fivepoint
Jul 28, 2010, 01:30 PM
Also, regarding the chapters track, ritsuka the subler dev ( and also a hb dev ) confirmed that enabling the chapters track has no effect on the chapters being accessible on any apple device. So just leave it as is.

Have fun with Subler!

Thanks!

MacinJosh
Jul 29, 2010, 03:11 AM
iFlicks is pretty brilliant. Give it a shot.

bergmef
Jul 29, 2010, 06:22 AM
iFlicks is pretty brilliant. Give it a shot.

+1 for iFlicks. I use it every day for tv shows and for my dvds that I ripped.

I love it.

mac&cheesey
Jul 29, 2010, 11:02 AM
+1 for iFlicks. I use it every day for tv shows and for my dvds that I ripped.

I love it.

+2 for iFlicks. Great program. Simple to use. Works very well.

fivepoint
Jul 30, 2010, 09:02 AM
iFlicks is more than just tagging though, right? It's ripping, encoding, and tagging? I've been very happy with Handbrake, so why would I make the switch? Is the quality better? Are the file sizes smaller? Is it faster? All steps in one program? Why choose iFlicks over Handbrake/Subler?

macrazee
Aug 1, 2010, 09:32 PM
Maybe I'm in the minority but I still use MetaX. Yes it isn't perfect and needs some work but it still works better than ANY other tag editor I've tried -- including iFlicks and some of these others. They all have nice UI and whatnot but they don't write the proper tags in the write places in my experiences with them. It's always a mess, hit or miss whether it will work properly. MetaX has not failed me yet...

bergmef
Aug 2, 2010, 04:54 AM
iFlicks is more than just tagging though, right? It's ripping, encoding, and tagging? I've been very happy with Handbrake, so why would I make the switch? Is the quality better? Are the file sizes smaller? Is it faster? All steps in one program? Why choose iFlicks over Handbrake/Subler?

I honestly don't know if it rips or not. I use handbrake to rip, then iflicks to tag. I started with iflicks when metax was having issues with amazon and tagchimp. I even had a question from the guy who did it and had a response that day. So far, it hasn't had a problem getting the info ... even on current shows.

Doju
Aug 5, 2010, 06:42 PM
iFlicks is more than just tagging though, right? It's ripping, encoding, and tagging? I've been very happy with Handbrake, so why would I make the switch? Is the quality better? Are the file sizes smaller? Is it faster? All steps in one program? Why choose iFlicks over Handbrake/Subler?Don't, use both like I do.

I use Handbrake for all my encodes, top of its game if you ask me and way faster at encoding than iFlicks.

But, iFlicks is insane at tagging. Once you encode the file in Handbrake, you can set it in Preferences to open it in iFlicks (or drag the file manually) it will gather all the meta data automatically, quickly and amazingly and present it stunningly. Then if you select "Flatten to quicktime file" it just adds the meta data to the encoded file and adds it to iTunes, takes like a minute to do. It doesn't re-encode it or anything, just adds on the data.

It does everything Subler does. HD tags, rating, etc. Lots of nice preferences too, I have it set to delete the original file and add it automatically to iTunes.

AND, if you already have files in iTunes, it can install an iTunes script to work right within iTunes for tagging.

So yeah, Handbrake is the best for encoding, iFlicks is the best for tagging. Great combo.