PDA

View Full Version : Object C in the workplace

thedon1
Jul 28, 2010, 09:48 AM
Sorry to add to the "i'm new and wanna program threads"

Ok so here's my situation.

I am buying my first mac and want to learn to make iphone apps. I studied computer science at A-level and have done stuff in VB. I'm hoping this would help me understand things conceptually.

I wanted to know how useful object C is outside mac and iphone developement.

I studied finance in Uni and interned at IBM and knowing some VB and stuff was really useful and impressive.

Putting object C knowledge on my CV can't hurt but how useful can it be?

Any advice or experiences?

robbieduncan
Jul 28, 2010, 09:56 AM
I wanted to know how useful object C is outside mac and iphone developement.

Objective-C is basically unused outside of the Apple world. I'd recommend being somewhat familiar with C as well as Objective-C for iPhone/Mac programming. C is useful outside of the Apple world.

thedon1
Jul 28, 2010, 10:09 AM
Objective-C is basically unused outside of the Apple world. I'd recommend being somewhat familiar with C as well as Objective-C for iPhone/Mac programming. C is useful outside of the Apple world.

So if i learn object C first, would it be easy to get a grasp of C?

Also, be honest, how hard is object C to learn on your own?

robbieduncan
Jul 28, 2010, 10:21 AM
So if i learn object C first, would it be easy to get a grasp of C?

Also, be honest, how hard is object C to learn on your own?

I would personally suggest learning C first then Objective-C (note it's not called object C). Others (including Stephen Kochan do not). Objective-C is a strict superset of C so it is, in theory, easier to learn C.

I found it easy to teach myself. But I do have a degree in Computer Science from a University that expected students to teach themselves programming languages instead of being spoon-fed chunks of code, already knew C and am a professional programmer.