Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ceshimm

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 10, 2010
After read some threads regarding to people's new imac with yellow tint/ buzz noise/and other issues related to the screen. i decide to unboxing imac in APPLE STORE and give it a test to make sure i do not bring issues home.

i understand most imacs are free of issues, what i read here is just a small group of people. but after had 2 faulty Alienware laptops returned to DELL, i have to be careful to any computer manufacturer.

However, as a newbie, i have no idea what should i do to test it in APPLE STORE. So any ideas?

Btom

macrumors 6502a
Nov 19, 2009
Prepare yourself a set of white, few grey and the test picture used in this forum as a slide show in the screen size (1920x1080, or 2540x1440) and look at them carefully in the store. You can do it almost anywhere.
But the best way is to take computer home and play with it in peace (do not install all the things you plan to install, just watch and listen and play with).

Tom B.

iread

macrumors member
Jul 30, 2010
Prepare yourself a set of white, few grey and the test picture used in this forum as a slide show in the screen size (1920x1080, or 2540x1440) and look at them carefully in the store. You can do it almost anywhere.
But the best way is to take computer home and play with it in peace (do not install all the things you plan to install, just watch and listen and play with).

Tom B.

Please can you add a link for those test images as I could not find them .. Thank you.

Btom

macrumors 6502a
Nov 19, 2009
Please can you add a link for those test images as I could not find them .. Thank you.

Some of them should be somewhere at the top of this thread. You could create uniform grey in a similar way (I think uniform grey is better for tests, but this is just MHO).

Tom B.

ceshimm

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 10, 2010

Tom B.