PDA

View Full Version : Tv shows showing up in Movies in Front Row?




dizzy130
Aug 1, 2010, 03:52 PM
So I've been ripping all of my DVDs in to my MacBook using Handbrake and it's going great. I've filled up my measely 80 GB harddrive already and I'm impatiently awaiting my 1 TB drive on order from Amazon. While I wait I've been organizing and tagging everything I've ripped in already using metax. I have 17 episodes of a TV show and in iTunes they all go to the TV show tab in the same season with the right artwork just like they should and they don't show up under movies too. But in Front Row they show up with the couple movies I had space for. The shows I've purhased from itunes dont show up with the movies, just the ones I ripped in myself. Is that normal or did I tag something wrong?

Also just wanted to say thank you for all the knowledge on this board. I've learned so much from all of you and this is totally changing the way I'm watchig my tv and movies.



rdowns
Aug 1, 2010, 05:20 PM
Do a 'get info' on each TV show showing up in movies and make sure its media king is set to TV.

dizzy130
Aug 1, 2010, 05:38 PM
Do a 'get info' on each TV show showing up in movies and make sure its media king is set to TV.

Thanks, but they're all set to TV show.

AppleNewton
Aug 3, 2010, 02:29 AM
Are you sure you tagged them as tv shows metax?
When it first launches and you drag a file in you select which it is before you enter the data.

All my tv shows show up in iTunes and front row appear properly. I'd double check your tagging in metax.
Because even if you change the type in itunes if you transfer it to another library it will rebert back to movies.

314631
Aug 3, 2010, 03:33 AM
It's a known issue. It has been a bug for years now.

1. The solution is to download "Make Video Tags" plugin for iTunes:
http://dougscripts.com/itunes/scripts/ss.php?sp=makevideotags
2. Follow the install directions, open up iTunes and then Launch Make Video Tags.
3. Select all your TV shows in iTunes and click the import button in Make Video Tags to bring them in to the plugin.
4. Now with all the shows selected in Make Video Tags, select TV Show for Media Kind and Apply Changes.
5. When finished, close out iTunes. Now open up Front Row and your TV Shows should be categorised correctly.

This may sound painful but it's a heck of a lot easier than all the other dirty fixes that others have suggested over the years. :)

tommylotto
Aug 3, 2010, 01:43 PM
This happened to me too.

Changed made to the media type in iTunes was not recognized by Front Row. Also, if you ever have to reimport your TV Shows back into iTunes (say, when you get your 1TB drive), the changes to media type in iTunes will be forgotten and you will need to start over.

The solution is to change the media type in a program called Subler. If you designate your TV Show files as a TV Show in Subler, the change will be made to the file itself and will be recognized when you import the file back into iTunes and also by Front Row.

AGAIN: Changing media type in iTunes as suggested above will not reliably work

dizzy130
Aug 3, 2010, 10:23 PM
It's a known issue. It has been a bug for years now.

1. The solution is to download "Make Video Tags" plugin for iTunes:
http://dougscripts.com/itunes/scripts/ss.php?sp=makevideotags
2. Follow the install directions, open up iTunes and then Launch Make Video Tags.
3. Select all your TV shows in iTunes and click the import button in Make Video Tags to bring them in to the plugin.
4. Now with all the shows selected in Make Video Tags, select TV Show for Media Kind and Apply Changes.
5. When finished, close out iTunes. Now open up Front Row and your TV Shows should be categorised correctly.

This may sound painful but it's a heck of a lot easier than all the other dirty fixes that others have suggested over the years. :)

This took some fiddling but it worked! Thank you so much!