PDA

View Full Version : doom3 release date?


xelterran
Aug 19, 2002, 10:33 AM
does anyone know when D3 will be released and if it is comming out on mac same time as PC? Also what are the specifications - ive heard it will need more than 64mb video card :eek:

topicolo
Aug 19, 2002, 10:56 AM
To quote John Carmack, "It'll come out when it's done"

Didn't expect anything different, did you? :)

coolocity
Aug 19, 2002, 12:13 PM
Doesn't matter what it requires.. as soon as it hits shelves the internet will break. :)

TheCat
Aug 20, 2002, 08:28 AM
Originally posted by xelterran
does anyone know when D3 will be released and if it is comming out on mac same time as PC? Also what are the specifications - ive heard it will need more than 64mb video card :eek:

it'll run on a 64mb gfx card, but the game needs 80mb to fully display itself in all its evil glory:-) So get saving for a GF4Ti or ATI9700, ok :)

Dunno when it's out, maybe in time for xmas??:eek:

xelterran
Aug 20, 2002, 08:53 AM
maby ill save up for a gforce5 with 256mb(??) video ram.... yeah and a new duel 1.6ghz pm g5 :D

Haberdasher
Aug 24, 2002, 11:41 PM
I don't know where you guys got this, but the game will not REQUIRE a 64mb graphics card. John Carmack has said that it will even run on a measly GeForce2-just don't expect stellar performance or a very purty experience.

BongHits
Aug 25, 2002, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by Haberdasher
I don't know where you guys got this, but the game will not REQUIRE a 64mb graphics card. John Carmack has said that it will even run on a measly GeForce2-just don't expect stellar performance or a very purty experience.

i swear i read in my GI that a geforce 3 will be the minimum (ruling out a geforce 4 mx w/o lightspeed architecture) well at least ill finally have a reason to get the 9700 or it's equivalent at the release of D3....i had originally just wanted a few hundred fps for W3 :D

MacAztec
Aug 25, 2002, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by BongHits


i had originally just wanted a few hundred fps for W3 :D

Whoopdie doo. Did you know your eye can only see about 30 frames per second???

Haberdasher
Aug 25, 2002, 08:32 AM
Amen to that MacAztec. While some people claim to see differences in speed up to sixty FPS, it's generally true that thirty is the cap.

ericb88
Aug 25, 2002, 02:47 PM
I, like most people dont really care about the fpsng as it runs smooth!

TheCat
Aug 29, 2002, 03:21 AM
Originally posted by MacAztec


Whoopdie doo. Did you know your eye can only see about 30 frames per second???

that's probably about right, that's why films play around 24fps cos that's when the eye sees it as animation rather than individual slides.. err iyswim..

Anyway, 30fps is no where near as good as 60fps - for games. Play something like Tekken on a PS1 - pal is 25fps and NTSC is 30fps. Both are cool games and look ok with there animation, but then go & play Soul Calibur on the Dreamcast at 60fps - it rocks. Ultra smooth and very fast.
60fps is the benchmark - all fps should run at this speed for ultimate enjoyment. Sure, 30fps is playable... but 60fps is easier on the eye.
Now, all we need is new PowerMac's to perform this well in all fps out atm:-)

I do agree with what others have said though.. anything more than 60fps isn't really necessary and is only for those that love to sit there benchmarking their pc's and optimising everything all day long.. rather than just playing the bloody game!

All imho, of course :-)