PDA

View Full Version : S.M.A.R.T. status :Failing

evil_santa
Nov 26, 2004, 02:32 AM
Disk Utility is showing S.M.A.R.T. status : Failing on my start up disk.

1/ Do I have to replace the disk or can it be fixed with a disk utility such as Disk Warrior?

2/ If i put a new disk in is it best to use "Carbon Copy Cloner" or do a clean install of OSX & restore from "Backup"

My System is a G4 733 with 60gb HD running 10.3.6

Thanks

eSanta

Nermal
Nov 26, 2004, 02:46 AM
I'm no expert, but from what I've heard, a SMART error means that the disk will soon physically fail :eek: (and therefore can't be repaired with software)

dobbin
Nov 26, 2004, 05:14 AM
There is an article about this in this weeks MacUser magazine (UK). I don't have it with me now, but I seem to remember it saying that SMART systems can give up to about a weeks notice of a likely physical disk failure which coud be catastrophic and not repairable. I would recommend backing up your data before you do *anything* else.

I hope everything works out OK for you.

edit: just noticed you are in the UK too - maybe you are able to pop to WHSmiths at lunchtime and check the article in MacUser. Its in the copy with a picture on the cover made up of thousands of tiny little photos.... just before the letters page I think, its a technical briefing on hard disks.

edesignuk
Nov 26, 2004, 05:23 AM
SMART = Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology.

The drive is about to go belly up, backup now, and get a new drive ordered up.

evil_santa
Nov 26, 2004, 06:11 AM
It all backed up using "back up" will pop out and get Mac User @ lunchime. Will pick up new disk from Tottenham Court Road on way home!

If I put the new drive in the other bay can I clone it using Carbon Copy Cloner, the new disk is likely to be bigger than the duff one.

Thanks,

cluthz
Nov 26, 2004, 07:31 AM
It all backed up using "back up" will pop out and get Mac User @ lunchime. Will pick up new disk from Tottenham Court Road on way home!