PDA

View Full Version : Made an iOS4 app, want to support 3.2 as well.




zerocustom1989
Aug 15, 2010, 03:13 PM
Hey guys, I've got an app on the Appstore and for the 2.0 release I wanna support OS 3.2. What are some things I need to take into consideration?

I think the ios4-only thing I use is iAds, how can I make sure that code is only run if the App is being run on a 4.0+ device?

I haven't had to deal with version-ing yet, so it's foreign to me.



zerocustom1989
Aug 16, 2010, 07:30 PM
Hey guys, I've got an app on the Appstore and for the 2.0 release I wanna support OS 3.2. What are some things I need to take into consideration?

I think the ios4-only thing I use is iAds, how can I make sure that code is only run if the App is being run on a 4.0+ device?

I haven't had to deal with version-ing yet, so it's foreign to me.

Well, I found out I can check the device software like this:
if ([[[UIDevice currentDevice] systemVersion] floatValue] <3.2)

Now im just wondering how I can get Xcode to build and run a target that runs on both 3.2 and 4.0 I'm having trouble getting it to simulate just be setting the simulator to 3.2.

Luke Redpath
Aug 16, 2010, 07:40 PM
Generally, a runtime version check is not going to help you much. Even if it did, you should always check for features instead of SDK versions.

The Apple docs cover this in detail.

http://developer.apple.com/iphone/library/iPad/index.html#documentation/DeveloperTools/Conceptual/cross_development/Introduction/Introduction.html