Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

unlimitedx

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 15, 2010
I heard beejive is good but it is 9.99. does anyone have this, is it worth it? otherwise, what are some free alternatives?

Jare

macrumors 65816
Jun 17, 2010
Canada
Beejive is the way to go, the free one's are OK but not fantastic.

I'm also a fan of IM+ Pro. You can always just use IM+ free if you don't mind ads and a few less features.

reaborg

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2010
Santa Clara
I think Whatsapp is really good. Not only does it support cross platform, I love the push IM'ing as well. And it tells you when the message is received as well as read.

And you don't have to worry about logging on and off. It's always connected. And if someone in your contact list has it already, it automatically adds them to it's list.

For people who are coming from the blackberry platform, this app is the closest I found to blackberry messenger.

Frenchjay

macrumors 68000
Jul 6, 2010
Whatsapp is awesome. It has a push feature so you know you have a new message even when the app is closed. You can send photos, videos, audio within the message and it is very stable and quick.

I use this all the time for free messaging it's awesome :D

FSMBP

macrumors 68030
Jan 22, 2009
Apple needs to include an instant messaging app as part of the OS like the BBM. That would be sweet.

Ditto, my brother. I think its outrageous that AT&T charges the price they do for texts in addition to charging for INCOMING text (which you cannot control). So a 1st party solution, would replace texting to other iPhone users (as it would be counted as data).

Plus, I'm sure if Apple did incorporate an iPhone BBM, it would its own cool features.

But I digress, I'd say Meebo (though it has issues). Also, AIM does facebook and AOL if those are the ones you need to message.

bluer101

macrumors regular
Jun 22, 2010