Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NorthKyut

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2010
Dear all,

Hi, I am a newbie of xcode and objective-c and I have a few questions regarding to the code sample of a game attached below. It is written in objective C, Xcode for iphone4 simulator. It is part of the code of 'ball bounce against brick" game. Instead of creating the image by IB, the code supposes to create (programmatically) 5 X 4 bricks using 4 different kinds of bricks pictures (bricktype1.png...). I have the bricks defined in .h file properly and method written in .m.

My questions are for the following code:
Code:
- (void)initializeBricks
{ 
	brickTypes[0] = @"bricktype1.png";
	brickTypes[1] = @"bricktype2.png";  
	brickTypes[2] = @"bricktype3.png";  
	brickTypes[3] = @"bricktype4.png";  
	int count = 0;
	for (int y = 0; y < BRICKS_HEIGHT; y++)  
	{  
		for (int x = 0; x < BRICKS_WIDTH; x++)  
		{   
Line1 --        UIImage *image = [ImageCache loadImage:brickTypes[count++ % 4]];  
Line2 --        bricks[x][y] = [[[UIImageView alloc] initWithImage:image] autorelease]; 
Line3 --        CGRect newFrame = bricks[x][y].frame;  
Line4 --        newFrame.origin = CGPointMake(x * 64, (y * 40) + 50);  
Line5 --        bricks[x][y].frame = newFrame;
Line6 --        [self.view addSubview:bricks[x][y]]
		}  
	}  
}
1) When it is compiled, error "ImageCache undeclared" in Line 1. But I have already added the png to the project. What is the problem and how to fix it? (If possible, please suggest code and explain what it does and where to put it.)

2) How does the following in Line 1 work? Does it assign the element (name of .png) of brickType to image?

>brickTypes[count ++ % 4]