Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AppleDavie

macrumors member
Original poster
May 21, 2011
Palmdale, Ca
Hello to all. I'm new here and also to the apple world. I can tell you that i have had about 2 computers. Right now I own a 17 inch HP laptop with an AMD processor. It lags. It does the job, but its starting to lag. Plus I hate windows. Too many updates and it takes forever to update too. No more PC's for me. Plus I have heard friends rave about their macs and how they are so reliable and of course there is the design. I just came to realize that apple products and technology is superior to others. I've seen macbook pros on display at Best Buy and I am impressed with the design. Apple truly does have the most gorgeous computers. When I got my iPhone 4 from Verizon, I loved it. I was in phone heaven. LOL Anyway I just wondered if i could get some advice on what mac i should get. I am a college student and i need a realiable computer. I was thinking of getting of the mac mini because its the cheapest. But i love the iMac design. especially now since they all have quad cores. But then I love the portability of the pro. I don't have a grip of money to spend but i am willing to buy a mac. I see it more as an investment. So if anyone could let me know which is the best option for me I would be much obliged. Thank you all.
Apple rules! :cool:

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
Well, you can get all three, of course.

If seriously: if you need portability, get a macbook pro, if you don't need portability, get an iMac. MacMini may be cheaper than an iMac, but the iMac comes integrated with all the peripherals and also has far superior performance.

MacHamster68

macrumors 68040
Sep 17, 2009
you are used to a laptop so i would say get the MacBook Pro if you want to continue to have a portable device , the iMac offers the best value for the money