Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

adamvk

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 29, 2008
Phoenix, AZ
I'm thinking of switching to a 13" Macbook Air.

The problem is, I am a photographer, and therefore have a massive photo/video library.

Currently my Macbook Pro has a 750GB HDD AND a 120GB SSD both inside (I took out my optical drive), so it's not an issue.

So if this were to work, I'd need to keep them on an external hard drive.

However will Time Machine backup my external hard drive as well?

Or does anyone have any other suggestions for how to make a setup like this work?

Thank you very much!!!

Nov 28, 2010
located
TM will backup external HDDs as long as they are formatted as "Mac OS Extended (HFS+)" and not excluded from the Exclude List in System Preferences > Time Machine > Options.

Time Machine FAQ

I have one 500 GB HDD for my photographs (digital and analog) libraries and editing documents, one 500 GB HDD with my personal video footage in an editing friendly format.
Both 500 GB HDDs get backed up to one 1 TB HDD via CarbonCopyCloner.
And that 1 TB HDD gets backed up to another 1 TB HDD via CarbonCopyCloner.
Therefore I have three copies of my important data.

kaelell

macrumors 6502
Nov 16, 2009
to the OP , Im in a similar position now and came across this post. just wondering how you go on with this set up?

thnx

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
TimeMachine will backup anything, any drive, including externals and thumb drives as long as they are not in the Exclusion list on the TimeMachine options.

AppleNewton

macrumors 68000
Apr 3, 2007
1 Finite Place
Open up Time Machine preferences from the System Preferences or Menu icon.

and make sure HDD is plugged in, click on Options and if its in the exclusion list, simply select the drive and click the '-' icon to remove it and it will back it up.

tfitzsimons

macrumors member
Feb 10, 2008