Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

-FlyAuburn-

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 2, 2010
Disclaimer: I'm not a developer so I have no idea what it does or doesn't take to re-code an App for a larger screen size.

Having said that is it really all that difficult? Maybe I'm just impatient or my expectations were off, but I feel like:

1. More Devs/Apps should have been ready with day one updates for the new screen size.

2. After a couple of days I would have expected more updates to start rolling out and it seems like there are almost none....

So what gives? Any devs have any insight on this?

roxxette

macrumors 68000
Aug 9, 2011
You should know by now that a lot of companys/developers take changes like these to render useless your current app and release a extra new and "improved" version; the reputable ones dont do these but keep an eye.

monchote

macrumors newbie
Jun 30, 2010
I am the developer of Achording Tabs and my app was iPhone 5 ready from day 1.

For most of the apps that are not games, all it should take is to add a new 4'' splash screen image and the app automatically expands to fill the screen. Of course, then it takes a fair amount of testing and maybe polish a few rough edges but not much more.

As I said, updating games to the new resolution is a much more involved thing because the OS doesn't do much for you, but I'm still disappointed on how few apps have actually been updated.

hishat

macrumors regular
Oct 14, 2007
United Kingdom
I am the developer of Achording Tabs and my app was iPhone 5 ready from day 1.

For most of the apps that are not games, all it should take is to add a new 4'' splash screen image and the app automatically expands to fill the screen. Of course, then it takes a fair amount of testing and maybe polish a few rough edges but not much more.