Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

_Refurbished_

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Mar 23, 2007
http://www.displaymate.com/Smartphone_ShootOut_2.htm#Table

I just finished reading the above article. It goes into fine detail about the display quality of the new iPhone 5, compared to the iPhone 4 and Samsung Galaxy S3. Everyone is hell bent on "screen size" these days, but screen size is merely one aspect of a display.

I would put myself ahead of most people when it comes to knowledge about display technology and calibration. I'm not a professional by any means, but I prefer to have my TV's and monitors calibrated. I have a 58" Samsung plasma that is ISF Calibrated, and it looks outstanding compared to its original settings. When I show people the difference compared to "out of the box" settings, they are blown away.

That's a topic for another thread. What we're focusing on here is the quality of the new iPhone 5 display, compared to the behemoth Samsung Galaxy S3 and the aging iPhone 4 / S displays.

The very first thing that jumped out at me was the color accuracy results of the iPhone 5 and the over-saturation of the Galaxy S3. One thing I notice every time I use a Samsung phone is its poor color accuracy. ESPN.com, for example, displays reds that look straight out of a comic book. For me, it doesn't matter how big your screen is, how dark your blacks are, or how high your contrast ratio is. If color reproduction looks fake and over-saturated, what's the point?

While shopping at an outdoor mall recently, I stopped by a Samsung Galaxy S3 marketing booth. Outdoor visibility was terrible on the Galaxy S3, compared to my severely outdated iPhone 4. Outdoor visibility is another big component for smartphone displays and it's an area OLED is clearly far behind on. The article, unsurprisingly, agrees with my hands on results.