Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

patent10021

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Apr 23, 2004
I've been doing a lot of retouching for friends' photos/sites etc and would like to have a Wacom. Tired of using my Magic Trackpad for masking /composites.

I saw many varieties in the store and it seemed like they had so many functions and was a bit overwhelming. I'm not a pro by any means and I'm certainly not an illustrator. Which model do you think would suit me?

Would love to use the iPad as a Cintiq. Adobe and Wacom should team up.

Turn the iPad into a tablet like Cintiq.

This guy is actually doing it. This should work for me as I don't need to worry about pressure sensitivity.

EDIT: Now that I'm over the excitement of using my iPad as a tablet lol I need to choose a Wacom tablet for my new 27" Thunderbolt display. Any suggestions? Which Bamboo tablet would be best for Photoshop masking and compositing work? It looks like they're all the same except for the included software and the Bamboo Create is larger. Other than that, the lower models seem to be about the same. Should I get Bamboo Capture?

Last edited:

chaosbunny

macrumors 68020
"It doesn’t have all the benefits of a graphic tablet such as the cintiq because there’s no pressure sensitivity ..." this is the thing you will miss the most when using the iPad. It limits the things you can do with masks and other tools quite much.

If you want to buy a wacom tablet for a 27" display, buy one as large as you can afford. Since the space of the tablet is mapped to the size of the screen the smaller bamboos will not be very useful, because you will have a hard time to work precisely.

At least get this one:
http://www.wacom.com/en/products/bamboo/bambootablets/bamboocreate.aspx

Better spend $200 on something really useful than $100 on something that is likely to collect dust. :)