Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ibesaam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2012
Hello everyone,

I am a long time user of macrumors but this is my first time posting so go easy on me please.

Anyways this is my problem; sometimes pictures from the iPhone are nice and in full size 1536 x 2056 px. Other times for some reason the pictures taken are under 300kb and 768 x 1024 px. These pictures are all taken with the rear camera of the iPhone 4. It makes no sense! I can not figure out what is causing this! someone please help. I have included two samples of images.

EDIT: I have also noticed that the smaller picture does not contain picture information like that it has been taken with an iPhone or the exposure and location etc.

Last edited:

ibesaam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2012
Do you zoom in to take photo's sometimes?

Hey thank you for the response. No zooming, no cropping, no editing.
I do not have the same problem with my iPhone 5 and I have had every iPhone from the original so I also know a thing or two *not claiming to be an expert* but I know more than the average user for sure. It is only with the iPhone 4 that I have this issue.

takeshi74

macrumors 601
Feb 9, 2011
How are you getting the pictures off the phone? Certain methods can affect the image size.

EDIT: I have also noticed that the smaller picture does not contain picture information like that it has been taken with an iPhone or the exposure and location etc.
...and methods that resize may strip the EXIF data as you've noticed.

ibesaam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2012
How are you getting the pictures off the phone? Certain methods can affect the image size.

...and methods that resize may strip the EXIF data as you've noticed.