Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daywiz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 12, 2012
I am not an expert at SoC information, but I would certainly would like to dwell more on this and more detailed explanation from any of the forum members would be welcome.

I would like to know if there is a substantial improvement if we move from a 32nm SoC to 28nm SoC. I know it won't be a drastic improvement, as compared to the 45nm (iPad 2,1) to the 32nm ( iPad 2,4) but what are the extra benefits, other than the decreased power consumption.

If there is substantial benefit, I would like to add some speculation to a future roadmap for iPad.

TSMC's 20nm quad-core "supposed" A7 is not expected to be in full production until late into the last quarter of 2013. At, the same time Apple wants to move production away from Samsung.

At that stage, it would be unwise for Apple to quickly jump into TSMC's 20nm. Wouldn't it be better for them to try TSMC by using A6 custom design with a 28nm design, and utilize that for the iPad 5. TSMC already has full production of the 28nm process.

Now let's suppose, Apple decides to launch the iPad 5 in June 2013 at the WWDC, with the product available at stores from late June ( 9 months after the 4th-gen iPad). Since the A7 won't be ready, even late into Oct 2013, they can use the 28nm A6, with a different moniker i.e " A6Y" for marketing purposes. It can help Apple substantinate their features such as improved battery life, thinner / lighter, if they can use it along with IGZO screen tech.