Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoelBC

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 16, 2012
A little background [and a little help please]...I am new to Mac after spending 20+ years as a WIndows user...I finally took the plunge and am still working through a number of issues so here goes...

I have a Western Digital ShareSpace NAS drive that contains a share with all my iTunes music...the ShareSpace NAS is CIFS, NFS and AFP compliant which means OS X can read and write to the drive...there are no read / write issues because I have dragged files from my NAS into iTunes 11 in OS X and everything works as it is supposed to...

iTunes 11 on a Windows 7 machine has no issues / problems reading from the NAS and accessing all of my music...

iTunes 11 on an OS X machine does has issues / problems reading from the NAS *NONE OF MY MUSIC IS LOADED*...

I have noticed that the file structure between iTunes for Windows and iTunes for OS X is different...the former stores the music in iTunes/Music folder whereas the later stores the music in the iTunes/Media/Music folder...

I would appreciate any assistance that you can provide in helping me to get this sorted as it is extremely frustrating and -- above all else -- a real issue / problem in moving from Windows to Mac...

With much thanks for your help...

Joel

Trix10

macrumors member
Jun 17, 2011
Not sure if this is any help at all, but will shamelessly bump your thread regardless!

I access my iTunes music wirelessly which is stored on an external hard drive, attached to the Time Capsule, but before i fire up iTunes i have to open up a finder window, and browse to the external hard drive, which in turn wakes it up and then iTunes can locate the music fine.

Sorry if i've misunderstood, need coffee ;)

JoelBC

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 16, 2012
Not sure if this is any help at all, but will shamelessly bump your thread regardless!