Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gnychis

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 24, 2009
It's been a while since I've tried to edit any sort of videos, and I'm new to Mac OS so I'm even less familiar with the software or tools available for it. But I kind of have a "special" request.

I have somewhere around 1000 videos that I've captured over the past 10 years of my life, some small clips (10 seconds), some longer (20 minutes). I want to do something "simple" like take the first 2 seconds of each video (for simplicity) and then merge them all together.

Of course, these videos are in all sorts of different formats and resolutions. So I'd like to be able to define the video to be the resolution of the highest resolution video, and just fit the others in with black backgrounds or something.

If anyone has any suggests on where to even start with this (e.g., trimming) I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks a bunch!

floh

macrumors 6502
Nov 28, 2011
Stuttgart, Germany
That's the first thing that came to mind for me as well. I am sure you can automate such a process with other tools, but I know for a fact that it can be done with ffmpeg, and that it can handle a huge amount of video formats.

So, the questions really is if you are okay with working in the Terminal or if you would like to have a graphical user interface to work with.

gnychis

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 24, 2009
for sure, I am comfortable with the command line. I will look up some details of ffmpeg and keep you updated if I have any issues. Thanks a bunch for the guidance!

floh

macrumors 6502
Nov 28, 2011
Stuttgart, Germany
I guess for this case, the most important options for you will be:

-ss <position> (start at position)
-t <duration> (where duration is in seconds or "hh:mm:ss[.xxx]" format)
-i concat:"file1.mov|file2.mov|file3.mov" (concatenate several files)