Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LordQ

Suspended
Original poster
Sep 22, 2012
I still have my iPad 1 and I use it daily, all-day long for college and entertainment.

I was thinking, do I need to upgrade to the iPad 5 this year? I mean, if it's not broke, you don't fix it right? And I can still work perfectly with my iPad 1, I still get 10 hours of battery life, only one app needs iOS 6 to update and the cameras are not a big deal for me.

Only something super amazing on iOS 7 could make me want the iPad 5 (or if the design match the renders we saw two days ago) the question is, when do you guys consider it's time to upgrade? Do you buy when you want or need? Also note that I'm an student and buy my Apple stuff with my own work and money.

pooleman

Suspended
Jan 11, 2012
Eastern CT
I still have my iPad 1 and I use it daily, all-day long for college and entertainment.

I was thinking, do I need to upgrade to the iPad 5 this year? I mean, if it's not broke, you don't fix it right? And I can still work perfectly with my iPad 1, I still get 10 hours of battery life, only one app needs iOS 6 to update and the cameras are not a big deal for me.

Only something super amazing on iOS 7 could make me want the iPad 5 (or if the design match the renders we saw two days ago) the question is, when do you guys consider it's time to upgrade? Do you buy when you want or need? Also note that I'm an student and buy my Apple stuff with my own work and money.

I buy when I want since the iPad really can't be considered a "need".

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra
In your case, I would say you know what you want and need.

If there are new apps or app updates you need that won't run on your iPad that would be an indicator it might be time to upgrade.