Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
Note: I am fairly new to server administration. It is entirely possible I'm missing something obvious here.

I have an OSX server machine configured for VPN access, and everything was working perfectly until the Public IP address changed. Now when I attempt to connect client machines to the network using the VPN Host Name, it doesn't work. I can, however, input the new Public IP address into the Host Name field on the client computer, and it connects fine.

I've tried creating and distributing new Configuration Profiles on the server, but they don't seem to make any difference.

I suppose what I'm asking is how to I get the VPN clients to look for the new Public IP address? I'd like to continue using my VPN Host Name and not have to manually input the IP address into each client.

BlendedFrog

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2010
Note: I am fairly new to server administration. It is entirely possible I'm missing something obvious here.

I have an OSX server machine configured for VPN access, and everything was working perfectly until the Public IP address changed. Now when I attempt to connect client machines to the network using the VPN Host Name, it doesn't work. I can, however, input the new Public IP address into the Host Name field on the client computer, and it connects fine.

I've tried creating and distributing new Configuration Profiles on the server, but they don't seem to make any difference.

I suppose what I'm asking is how to I get the VPN clients to look for the new Public IP address? I'd like to continue using my VPN Host Name and not have to manually input the IP address into each client.