Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IPadNParadise

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 12, 2013
Somewhere in the process of trying/failing to download Adobe Flash Player to my MBP, i added Firefox to it. I will live without Flash but want to get Firefox safely deleted from my MBP. I am a newbie to macs on top of being computer illiterate so please be simple. I do know enough to think I need more than drag it to the trash in order to prevent any problems for my mac sometime in the future.

Thank you for any assistance you can be,

SandboxGeneral

Moderator emeritus
Sep 8, 2010
Detroit
Somewhere in the process of trying/failing to download Adobe Flash Player to my MBP, i added Firefox to it. I will live without Flash but want to get Firefox safely deleted from my MBP. I am a newbie to macs on top of being computer illiterate so please be simple. I do know enough to think I need more than drag it to the trash in order to prevent any problems for my mac sometime in the future.

Thank you for any assistance you can be,

You can just drag the Firefox icon into the Trash Bin and that will get rid of it. Or if you want a more thorough deletion, check out the steps in this post:

Best way to FULLY DELETE a program

IPadNParadise

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 12, 2013
Oh, I want it to be as simple as dragging to the trash. My problem is I read in these forums too much where if you do that you leave behind little traces of something that could cause you problems down the road so just trying to do it right at this point.

ZMacintosh

macrumors 65816
Nov 13, 2008
one thing i would also suggest, is to goto your User Library Folder.

If your on Snow Leopard click on the Go link in Finder menu bar and choose Library

or in Lion/Mt Lion Option Click GO from the finder menu bar and select library

open Application Support
located FireFox and delete the Firefox folder.