Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mcsolas

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 4, 2013
I have been working with sites for many years on windows, just now switching to the Mac OSX platform.

Right now I am looking at setting up my local development environment. I looked through a few threads and I am downloading MAMP now. It seems the Mac comes with PHP installed, but it sounded like this keeps it all in a container and deployment was easy.

Are there any tricks to getting that up an running? How do you handle developing multiple sites at once, or do you just copy them into a folder and work on them one at a time?

What other tools might be of interest? I usually work with WordPress / LAMP based hosts these days.

NikMac

macrumors member
Feb 9, 2008
Canada
Personally I use Komodo Edit (free version) for web development projects - I have a separate folder for each project and Komodo is able to open the entire website with a convenient ".kpf" project file. You can also open documents from different projects simultaneously but I prefer to focus on one project at a time.

I use the Firebug extension for Firefox for fine-tuning CSS, and you've already found MAMP for working with PHP. WordPress and Smashing Magazine have good guides for using it:
http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_WordPress_Locally_on_Your_Mac_With_MAMP
http://wp.smashingmagazine.com/2011/09/28/developing-wordpress-locally-with-mamp/

mcsolas

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 4, 2013
Thanks for those links, I am checking them now.
Personally I use Komodo Edit (free version) for web development projects - I have a separate folder for each project and Komodo is able to open the entire website with a convenient ".kpf" project file. You can also open documents from different projects simultaneously but I prefer to focus on one project at a time.