Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EmrahGS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 19, 2013
Hi all,
I am new to the mac world (for 6 months using a macbook now), and I am having the following issue. Hopefully someone will be able to help fix this as I'm going crazy because of this :)

I have got a Dune HD mediaplayer with a internal HDD in it. When connected via USB I can read/write/delete to the HDD without any issues. I managed to connect to the HDD wireless via the network (smb), but the problem I am having is that I can only read the HDD when I am connected via the network (as admin)!

When I click on Get Info, it says I have Custom Access and I cannot change anything (connected with USB it says that I have read/write access).

The issue is the Untitled volume. I also dont know what all those numbers behind the name are. Connected with USB the name is just Untitled, without those numbers!

drwxr-xr-x 36 root wheel - 1292 17 mrt 20:44 ..
lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin - 1 17 mrt 20:47 Macintosh HD -> /
drwx------ 1 admin staff - 16384 19 mrt 20:01
Untitled_78571f31_b025_33c3_8c82_ceb5a2ad75a7

Does anyone know where this issue might come from and how to solve it? I really want to be able to write to that disk over the network.

Thanks!

Last edited:

DJLC

macrumors 6502a
Jul 17, 2005
North Carolina
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe Apple's newer implementation of SMB doesn't support writing (yet).

cbott

macrumors newbie
Jan 26, 2012
Michigan
I'm running 10.8.3 in a Windows enterprise environment and can read and write to SMB without any issues (have been able to with 10.6.x through current OS - I wasn't using SMB prior to 10.6.x). I'm not saying that SMB works well but you should be able to read and write.