Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tjgonzo

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 14, 2013
California
Hey guys. First time starting a thread but, long time follower.
I'm currently in the market to buy a used or possibly refurbished 5D mk II and need to know what type of these to pay attention to when buying a used body.

I'm no professional photography/ cinematographer but, at the same time I have been using high end prosumer cameras (Canon GL2, Sony HDR cameras) for various work over the last couple of years so I am familiar with how cameras work. I.E. f-stop, ISO, & iris. My main use of this camera would be to have a personal camera to shot pictures of family trips, hikes and other outdoor activities and also to film shorts & adverts for my church. Possibly short films with friends (for rec purposes only).

So I just need to know what to look for when looking at eBay/ Craigslist.
Also, in your guys' opinions: what lenses should look at for my uses?
(BTW, I would be recording all audio externally when using the camera for video)
Thanks,
Taylor

Kebabselector

macrumors 68030
May 25, 2007
Birmingham, UK
So I just need to know what to look for when looking at eBay/ Craigslist.

Also, in your guys' opinions: what lenses should look at for my uses?

Research the average selling price (on Ebay) and anything much less than might not be such a bargain (scam etc)

As for lenses, really depends on your budget. The 5D Mark II was often sold in a kit with the 24-105 IS f/4 L - so you may find this is a good one to start with.

acearchie

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2006
I would recommend a Tamron 24-70mm f2.8 VC.

It's cheaper than the Sigma and Canon counterparts, has a variation of IS and is f2.8 throughout the zoom.

Shot an entire event on it at weekend along with a Tokina 11-16mm and really can't fault it.

Coming from GL2 style cameras you will go nuts over the low light capabilities.