Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Asimina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 9, 2013
Hi Guys,

What macbook should i get?

both are used in a good condition.
both are 13"

i'm a web/graphic designer so i was wondering if

i should get the macbook pro 2009 version for 396$
or get a macbook air 2011 for 925$

I cant decide! base on the price i could go for the pro BUT since its a 2009 model im not sure about the battery etc.

can anyone help me out??!!

costabunny

macrumors 68020
May 15, 2008
Weymouth, UK
might help if you can give us the specs of both and also an idea to the apps you mostly use.

I use a 2011 Air (1.8 i7, 4GB) and do web design on it and also use photoshop (nothing too heavy tho, mostly touch ups and graphics for sites).

Asimina

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 9, 2013
might help if you can give us the specs of both and also an idea to the apps you mostly use.

I use a 2011 Air (1.8 i7, 4GB) and do web design on it and also use photoshop (nothing too heavy tho, mostly touch ups and graphics for sites).

Thanks!!
I have the specs for the macbook air 13(2011 version) and will try and get for the macbook pro 2009 version as well
-----------
Apple macbook air mid 2011 (13 inch)

CPU: 1.7GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 with 3MB shared L3 cache
Memory
4GB of 1333MHz DDR3 onboard memory

GPU:
Intel HD Graphics 3000

Display:
13.3-inch (diagonal) high-resolution LED-backlit glossy widescreen display with support for millions of colors
Supported resolutions:
1440 by 900 (native), 1280 by 800, 1152 by 720, and 1024 by 640 pixels at 16:10 aspect ratio; 1024 by 768 and 800 by 600 pixels at 4:3 aspect ratio
HDD:
128GB SSD
-----------

----------

but what i can also add is that the macbook pro is older and used much more than the macbook air. so what i think about is the battery life of the pro, a bit heavier than the air, but spacewise i dont know yet.