Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

redhatlab

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 1, 2010
Hi,

I am a freelancer web developer and I am planning on buying a new Mac. Due to a recent experience with my now 5+ years all iMac over heating to burn out the video card I started to think that all in one computers might alway have some issue and I will not even mention the trouble to upgrade it.

Should my next computer be another iMac or should I get a Mac mini or even the new Mac Pro so that the heat of the screen is not in top of the CPU, Hard Drive, motherboard, etc?

Note: I don't play games on the computer or do any rendering. I don't need a NASA computer as I will not be folding molecules. I do hate cables messes. My current setup is an iMac 2008 with a 24 LED cinema display.

redhatlab

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 1, 2010
Thank you for your reply, but I am not asking for performance. The current iMac with the 3rd generation intel processors are really good too. I just want to get a configuration that will extend the life of the machine.

phrehdd

macrumors 601
Oct 25, 2008
Thank you for your reply, but I am not asking for performance. The current iMac with the 3rd generation intel processors are really good too. I just want to get a configuration that will extend the life of the machine.

I have used iMac, Mac Mini and Mac Pro. In your case, all of them would work and some might be overkill. I ended up with a Mac Mini and a 3rd party higher end monitor. This monitor is still in use though I have given my original Mac Mini away and bought another. In short the monitor should last as long as your computer and perhaps longer (calibration of the monitor for graphic use is another reason I use a 3rd party monitor).