Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

in2themystik2

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
Ohio
I have decided to switch to mac for the first time and get an ibook soon. I use the computer for average, normal, everyday things (e-mail, research, internet, word, school work, etc.). I was wondering from those who have ibooks if they would recommend upgrading the memory to 768MB or 1G, or if you think the 512MB would be enough for me. For people who have 512MB of memory, do you find that it works for you, or wish you had more? :confused:

Also, as for the hard drive, I was thinking it would be wise to upgrade to 60GB. If anyone has any views or opinions on this, that would be helpful!

Any other suggestions or knowledge you may have regarding Mac or iBooks would be appreciated, as I am still learning!

Thank you so much! :)

EDIT: I ordered my iBook Sunday night!! To extend its life because i'll have it for several years, I got an 80GB hard drive, because I have not filled mine up that fast, and I'll still have my desk top. I also just went ahead and got 1 GB of RAM because it was less hastle than waiting, and if i'm spending that much, i just figured I should do it now. Anyway, I am so excited and now just have to wait for it to get here!! :D

buryyourbrideau

macrumors 65816
Mar 1, 2005
Chicago
For your uses, 512 would do you just fine.

If you wanted to then upgrade to 768 but dont do it through Apple. Order some extra memory from These Guys
and you would be in great shape.

Its very easy to install RAM your self. They also include directions on how to install the RAM if you dont know how.

And yes I would upgrade to at least an 80GB drive if possible. I use mine for the same things, and my HD is almost full.

Hope this helps :D

in2themystik2

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
Ohio
buryyourbrideau said:
For your uses, 512 would do you just fine.