Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TSE

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 25, 2007
St. Paul, Minnesota
I am going to Italy on the 30th for two months to study design. :p

I have no experience on flights whatsoever.

How do I carry a laptop on flight? I've been googling how tos and one article says one thing and another article says another thing.

Can someone who travels internationally give me a rundown?

Any tips for living in Rome?

ohbrilliance

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2007
Melbourne, Australia
What kind of advice have you read?

It's pretty simple. Carry your laptop in its own bag or in your hand luggage. Take it out of its bag through the x-ray so that the laptop goes through on its own and doesn't inhibit the x-ray machine from seeing what else is in your bag.

TSE

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 25, 2007
St. Paul, Minnesota
How about my DSLR Camera?

Thanks guys.... traveling for the first time in my life really... heard horror stories about airports.

Astroboy907

macrumors 65816
May 6, 2012
Spaceball One
... heard horror stories about airports.

Don't listen to them. Just make sure you get there early enough so that if you can't find your gate you'll be fine. As for security, it's really not bad at all. They'll guide you through it.

----------

Explore, eat well (it's Italy after all!), and there's this really awesome gelato place near the entrance to the Vatican museums.

alent1234

macrumors 603
Jun 19, 2009
it's $85 to get a TSA known traveler number
if your airline supports TSA Pre, might be a good investment to walk through security with no checks and not take your stuff out onto the machine

G51989

macrumors 68030
Feb 25, 2012
NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA

Should have gone to France, the best country in Europe.

Its gonna boring, try to sleep.