Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AnnaMonrad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 27, 2007
Hi

I have problems using my new HP LaserJet 1018 printer together with a mac mini. After looking on the net I found the printer program: foo2zjs, but since I am new in the Darwin/Unix world I had problem with the installation. I therefore wonder if there is eny one out there that can help me??

Anna

mklos

macrumors 68000
Dec 4, 2002
My house!
So what exactly are you trying to do? Are you trying to get it working inside of Mac OS X? Are you trying to get it working in the unix terminal?

From looking on HP's website, the 1018 isn't compatible with OS X. You may want to try an HP Laserjet 4 or Laserjet 5 driver. Those are pretty universal drivers and may work.

AnnaMonrad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 27, 2007
Unix problems

Yes, HP hasn't made a driver that works with Mac OS X. I have tried the two drivers you suggested but it didn't work... In addition to this I have tried other HP drivers with no success.

The program I found on the net foo2zjs (http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/), may work but my problem is that I have problems under the installation. I work in the unix terminal, but since I am new in unix it may be a simple problem.

I have no problem downloading the program and unpacking it, but then my problems starts. To compile I use the command $ make, this doesn't work terminal just replies with: command not found.

Then I have tried: $ su OR $ sudo make install
# make install
->I get the same answer: command not found.

My problem may be that I didn't type an argument for the command?
Ex) $ make XML file.

Hope you can help me, or at least make me a little smarter in the unix word? / Anna

So what exactly are you trying to do? Are you trying to get it working inside of Mac OS X? Are you trying to get it working in the unix terminal?