Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

afan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2007
Im new to macs and I was wondering if a 15" 700mhz refurbished would be worth $300 shipped? How well would it be able to run Photoshop, itunes and web browser at the same time. And what would be the latest OS I could run on it? Thanks sorry for all the questions it's just mac and pcs a to different worlds.

I know a lot about pcs but does anyone know where I could find out information like a g4 700mhz processor can perform as good as a pcs p4 1.4ghz processor. Stuff like that. Thanks again

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
The current OS Tiger is likely the last OS you'll be able to run on it.

Leopard seems to have been targeted to 800MHz G4s, but recently may have been pushed up to 866MHz machines.

So yes, a Mini might be a better bet in you have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.

Note: You'd want to bump the memory -- problem is that if it is running PC133 or DDR memory, it'll be more expensive to bump up to 1GB than current DDR2 DIMM/SO-DIMM machines.

afan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2007
I cant find any mac minis that cheap. How about a Quick silver 733mhz for $290 shipped is that a better deal?

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn
Mar 23, 2005
Indianapolis
I cant find any mac minis that cheap. How about a Quick silver 733mhz for $290 shipped is that a better deal?
That's a rather good deal if it includes shipping. What is your budget?

I suggest checking the marketplace here to see if anyone is offering a Mac that you want for sale.

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002

Running PC133 memory, hard to find and about 3-4 times the cost per GB as current RAM.

A GB for the QS is about $100-160 if you can find it versus $35-40 for a GB of current notebook memory.

The MDD and newer machines at least ran DDR.

Look at

http://support.apple.com/specs/

tech specs, including memory types.