Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Junglefrog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2007
I know this is probably a question asked before but the last post I could find was in march on the same issue and the answers given there don't seem to work...
I am new to Mac (received it yesterday) and am trying out both aperture and lightroom to see which one I like best for my workflow .
However; when I try to assign keywords to a group of images; it only assigns it to one of the images. I read somewhere I had to make sure it wasn't on primary which I did, still no results. I have tried entering it directly into the metadata - doesn't work. I tried entering it in the keyword hub, also doesn't work and I tried entering it in the keyword control panel in the bottom, also doesn't work... I'm a bit at a loss here on how to make this work, as I cannot work without keywords!
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

kenmoberg

macrumors newbie
Nov 26, 2007
I used lightroom for a long time but when I switched to a mac, I have been trying to use aperture since it integrates better with iLife etc. I think aperture is very weak on keywords vs. lightroom. The search function is a bit more clumsy and I've had a problem with the referenced photos refreshing the thumbnails constantly (see other threads for that headache). If it wasn't for the needed integration with iLife (or for that matter, the finder), I would use lightroom in a heartbeat. I'm still trying to get aperture it's fair shake however.

The way I process keywords in aperture, is to select the photos you want to tag, bring up the keyword HUD (shift H) and drag a tag from the HUD to the photo group. It seems counter intuitive especially since lightroom has you drag the photos to the tag but at least it does work.....too much mouse movement for my taste.

Regards.

srt4cane

macrumors member
Aug 25, 2007