Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dubbed82

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 25, 2008
Hi all, i just got a turbo.264 and am converting some divx avi's in preparation for an apple tv i plan on getting soon. when using the "apple tv" setting, i get an mp4 file that's double the size of the original file, and looks worse!
i tried it again, using the same bit rate as the original file (1103 kbps) and not only is the file still bigger than the original, but again it looks worse.
am i doing something wrong? what settings should i use to preserve the same quality and size as the original divx file?
can i do a "pass through" to keep the video quality the same?

i'm new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks

frankiepdx

macrumors regular
Dec 28, 2007
Portland OR
Sorry if I misread your post. I saw "convert Divx " and thought this would help. There are Apple TV hacks to play DivX but as it stands right now, i'm not able to help you, I'm sure others have a better idea for your needs.

ibglowin

macrumors regular
Jul 1, 2005
Use iSquint

AppleTV setting.

H.264 setting and High Quality setting.

File size should be almost exactly the same as your AVI file and quality should be the same. Thats my experience anyway. Not sure how you would use the turbo stick adapter with this but the iSquint software works great and its free!

northy124

macrumors 68020
Nov 18, 2007
Use QuickTime Pro .Mov works fine and you can also export to .MP4 if you want to. Well worth £20/$30 if you ask me. Much quicker than re-encoding plus you don't lose quality of the re-encoding.

Northy124

speakerwizard

macrumors 68000
Aug 8, 2006
London
you should be able to open in visual hub or quicktime pro and passthrough the video and audio into an mp4 without any further compression.

err404

macrumors 68030
Mar 4, 2007