Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drummer21scum

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 4, 2008
Hi total newbie to mac os x, work in a server 2003 environment, starting to introduce mac's at work, using leopard...

i was just wondering if anyone knows the script to mount a windows share eg.
\\mySrver\myShare$ and then add it to the finder sidebar...

just sick to death of going to finder>connect to server etc

any help would be great ;)

larkost

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2007
There are a few different routes to go:

If you are in an "enterprise" setting, then there is a good chance that there is an Active Directory server in the mix, and you can then bind to the AD server, and your "home" folder can be auto-mounted at login. You just need to use the directory utility for that.

Another option is to make an alias of the folder (inside the share) that you want. Unlike Windows shortcuts, aliases can contain the data needed to get to the share.

Another option is to make the alias, then put it in your login items.

After that there are a whole number of other ways (mount_smbfs on the command line, MCX if you are really good, etc), but I think you should probably chose one of the first three.

jeremy.king

macrumors 603
Jul 23, 2002
Holly Springs, NC
I use an Applescript application. Only because I didn't want to explain to the wife how to execute a shell script. A simple alias on the desktop, a double click, and Bam!

Code:
tell application "Finder"
	mount volume "afp://username:password@hostname/sharename"
end tell

if you want SMB, simply change the afp to smb.

drummer21scum

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 4, 2008
worked at treat! thanks, not to be a bit greedy but you wouldnt know how to add the share to the finder sidebar after it opens, would you? cos for some reason in leopard when u connect to a share its not mounted on the desktop or finder for some reason? strange

jeremy.king