Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

swoolf

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2003
Hi -

I'm planning on purchasing a used Cube to use as a fileserver on my local network. What I'd like to know is if I can run the Cube with no monitor or keyboard/mouse attached.

I remember a while back that Macs would not boot without a monitor connection and/or a keyboard connected. Is this true for the Cube?

Thanks,

Steve

Counterfit

macrumors G3
Aug 20, 2003
sitting on your shoulder
I have no personal experience with the Cube, but I know that my Beige G3 can boot without said stuff attached, but the monitor has to be plugged in at the boot for the port to be useable. That and I don't have a USB keyboard for it, so that needs to be plugged in.

hvfsl

macrumors 68000
Jul 9, 2001
London, UK
I would get a graphics card for it that has TV-out and a 5.1 sound card, then use it as a home media centre. You can plug it into your main TV and use it to view DVDs/movie files and music in iTunes. You can also get TVcards or firewire/usb adapters that let your Mac do tivo stuff. The cube looks too good to hide away as a file server.

Wyrm

macrumors 6502
Jan 7, 2003
Toekeeyoe, Japan
But nothing looks as good as a cube.

Speaking of used Cubes - I found a shop here in Tokyo selling a Cube-400 or something like that for over 100,000 yen!!! (that's about $1000 USD)... of course it was in near mint condition..

-Wyrm (Cube envy-ist) :D

swoolf

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2003
Why a file server

I wanted to use it as a file server/web server because it's small and quiet and consumes relatively low power compared to the G4 towers. I just recently simplified my home office setup from five machines (4 Macs, one PC) to two laptops, and I want to tuck a Cube onto a shelf with my router and DSL modem and forget about it.