Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

athand

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 9, 2009
EU
I'm looking for a really good backgammon for my iPhone. Searching in several game reviews websites didn't help; Strange but seems that there are only a few backgammon implementations on iphone and most of them not worth the cost.

So far I've got one named Backgammon Touch. Not bad but I wonder if something better exists.

Would love to hear your opinions! :)

Galley

macrumors 65816
Mar 24, 2008
I'm no expert, but the backgammon included with Astraware Board Games is pretty good.

njsoftware

macrumors newbie
Oct 23, 2009
Backgammon NJ

If you're looking for a very strong computer AI, our app, Backgammon NJ, plays on the level of GNU Backgammon (an open source desktop program that plays at world-class levels). It also includes features that can help you learn to play better by showing you the best moves to make in each situation. Backgammon NJ is relatively new, first released on 9/1/09.

You can read more about the game here:

http://iphone.njsoftware.com

Since it's quite difficult for most players to win against the AI on the hardest skill setting, we've had a number of people who have posted (false) reviews that our app cheats. However, we've incorporated a couple features in the game which definitively prove that it doesn't cheat. If you're willing to make the effort to use these features, you can assure yourself that the game is honest. More info about these features can be found here:

http://www.njsoftware.com/note.html

athand

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 9, 2009
EU
I've got Backgammon NJ a few weeks ago. I have to admit it's much better than any other iPhone backgammon app I've tried before. AI seems ok though a bit too hard even at easy skill level, but so far I didn't notice anything bad like dice cheating.