Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kAoTiX

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
Midlands, UK
I am a windows programmer of 7 years and are looking to start programming for iPhone/iPod. Basically, I have no idea where to start...well, I sort of do but would like some pointers.

I know I need a mac (! I bought a PPC mac mini how stupid.)
Will be getting an Intel based Mac in the coming weeks.

Where do I go from here? I currently program in C++/Delphi and do web programming for PHP/MySQL so learning a new syntax/language isn't a problem but I know I'm going to be reading a fair few books first.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Learn plain-old basic C. Ensure you understand pointers well. Then learn Objective-C. Both of these can be done using web-based resources only (edit by this I don't mean you must do it online, rather that you can do it without buying any books).

kAoTiX

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
Midlands, UK
*forum lurker alert*

that was a fast response!
I'll be sure to check that out. I do have some understanding of plain old C and read some things about objective C but never anything practical. Can you recommend any online resources or books/ebooks to get me started?

kAoTiX

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
Midlands, UK
Thanks for the information yet again.
I'm excited now to see what I can do!

*waits for mac mini*

dukeofism

macrumors member
Jul 22, 2009