Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jmcclain145

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 27, 2008
Atlanta, GA
Hey guys, I have what might be a simple question to you guys, but I'm a little new to Mac computers so bear with me.

I have a 13" MacBook Pro unibody 2009 model. I want to do a backup via TimeMachine because I'm upgrading to a 15" MacBook Pro unibody 2009 model.

My question is will all my applications backup and transfer to the new machine? I have CS4, Office 2008, Parallels with windows 7 ultimate, Toast 10, and somemore applications I don't want to lose.

I've been told because the hardware configurations are different (ie chipsets, GPU's ect) that the backup can only be restored on a MacBook of same specs.

That did come from someone with experience primarly in Windows PC's.

My mac has these specs:
500gb HD 7200rpm
4gb ram
2.26ghz

15" specs:
320gb HD
4gb ram
2.8ghz

Again the question in this story like paragraph is if I do a TimeMachine backup on my 13" MacBook Pro can I transfer that backup (and in doing so all my apps iTunes library and EVERYTHING) to my new 15" MacBook Pro?

Thanks so much in advance!

Relznuk

macrumors 6502
Sep 27, 2009
UT, USA
Hey guys, I have what might be a simple question to you guys, but I'm a little new to Mac computers so bear with me.

I have a 13" MacBook Pro unibody 2009 model. I want to do a backup via TimeMachine because I'm upgrading to a 15" MacBook Pro unibody 2009 model.

My question is will all my applications backup and transfer to the new machine? I have CS4, Office 2008, Parallels with windows 7 ultimate, Toast 10, and somemore applications I don't want to lose.

I've been told because the hardware configurations are different (ie chipsets, GPU's ect) that the backup can only be restored on a MacBook of same specs.

That did come from someone with experience primarly in Windows PC's.

My mac has these specs:
500gb HD 7200rpm
4gb ram