Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

knew2mack

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 20, 2009
The Beach
Hi everyone

Ok I am new to computers as a whole. I read somewhere that in is vital to make sure to 'quit' everything instead of just clicking on 'x'....then I read that it's best to keep 'activity monitor' as certain levels.

I do NOT understand most of what I have read. Could someone please tell me if it's ok to quit every process in activities monitor? What are the ones that are vital to my machine running properly, quickly and at a relatively cool temperature??

I am just afraid that if I 'quit' the wrong thing, my computer will stop running and performing as it should.

Please please help me figure this out. Would it be better if I took a screenshot?

I appreciate any & all of the help you can provide me with

Dawn

grapes911

Moderator emeritus
Jul 28, 2003
Citizens Bank Park
I don't think you need to quit everything. I leave Mail, Safari, and iTunes running all the time. I do quit other apps that I'm not using.

Just click on the App name next to the apple in the upper left hand corner of the screen. Then click quit at the bottom of the menu. Alliteratively, press cmd + Q.

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
To quit an application (program / software) in Mac OS X, either use CMD+Q as keyboard shortcut or go to the Menu Bar and select the name of the program (Safari for example) and choose QUIT.

Quit.jpg

That is enough. You don't need to quit running processes in Activity Monitor, only if they stop responding.

activity_monitor_1.png

Also have a look at the following links, as the information presented there might be helpful in your future endeavours into Mac OS X and could clear up initial confusion and may even prevent harm to your system or your files.

4560602131_3d5b4f34c2_o.jpg

4561230638_3ced5b19a3_o.jpg

4561230714_d6e9a40397_o.jpg

Eidorian

macrumors Penryn