Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rocksplode

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 14, 2010
Hi,

I'm a medical student and as such I have to read a lot of PDFs in Preview. I usually read the text and highlight as I go to mark the important stuff. I was wondering if there's a way to create a new document composed of only the stuff I highlighted. That way I would have a great study guide and I wouldn't have to re-type all the content. So to summarize:

Copy highlighted sections ONLY and paste selections into a new document

Thanks!

tkermit

macrumors 68040
Feb 20, 2004
EDIT (Update): You know what? This (free and apparently awesome) program actually seems to do exactly what you want via its Export-function. That should be a much better solution for you.

There's an "Extract PDF annotations" action available for OS X in the Automator application. It doesn't seem to be able to extract highlighted text though, just actual annotations. Now - what you could do to get this to work is, each time you highlight something, add a note to it and paste the highlighted text into that note.

It might not be too cumbersome if you use keyboard shortcuts:

* Select the part that you want to highlight
* Press ⌘-C (copy)
* Press ^⌘-H (highlight)​
* Press ^⌘-N (enter note-creation mode) and click next to the highlighted portion
* Press ⌘-V (paste)​
* Press ^⌘-N (to exit out of the note-creation mode)

This may seem overly complicated and it sure isn't exactly Mac-like, but you'll get pretty quick at this after a bit of practice. :p

Attachments

• summarize.png
    summarize.png
    83.3 KB · Views: 802

holdenn

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2013